Just another WordPress.com site

Pathumtani!

Yes friends, after over a month of being stuck in “The Room” at Kampengphet I am finally back in my original host city! WE arrived two days ago and had to walk through shin deep water- which by the way was a lot less fun than when the flood first hit our town. The water is… well nothering short of the definition of revolting. I can’t actually feel the road when I walk barefoot because it is covered in slime and mushy newspaper scraps. Ewww.
On a better note, things are geting cleaner! Yesterday I spent over four hours washing dishes that were all unfortunate enough to be stored on the floor. This is obviously not an ideal storage place, Meh discovered TWO KNIVES camoflaged under the black muck that filled our main floor. YIKES! Actually we were very lucky that nobody had an accident… After all the dished were scrubbed to absolute perfection my sponge had worn down into tiny pieces and my hands were paler than Edwards stomach. And prunier than a raisin! My host sisters had the time of their lives teasing me.
This morning Meh and Paw were able to get the rest of the water out of our house and they spent the rest of the day removing the grime.
As for me, I went to school! We had a Big Cleaning Day! I met up with some friends and sweeped the remaining nastyness into piles that were then thrown away in garbage bags. Afterwards we had a meeting and recieved a bag of supplies and a new matress. Both very heavy. Both of which got carried along with me to the  internet cafe where I currently am. And ohhh boy am I dreading the walk back home…

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the update! Kind of puts the whole “clean up your room” thing into perspective, doesn’t it.

    December 4, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  2. Dennis dDeMuth

    Hope you had a Happy Birthday I’m still trying to get organized in my new house
    Love
    Grandpa Denny

    December 6, 2011 at 1:23 am

Leave a Reply

