Just another WordPress.com site

My august update

I went with my host sisters to Bangkok recently for shopping. We saw some “Falang” aka foreigners. I thought they all looked very tall, I’m so used to seeing the same people in my school and town.

It has been raining A LOT and I have to be careful when I take my camera to school, because I would be devastated if it got wet or ruined at all. The rain happens daily. It stays about 30 Celsius here, all year round, which is 86 Fahrenheit. Last month we were actually reading in the news about the heat spell in Michigan recently, where it was 45 Celsius (113 Fahrenheit). Funny that Thailand would be cooler.
Here is a simple recipe for a popular Thai beverage. It is really sweet and I drink it at school for 10baht almost everyday 🙂
Take a small slice of watermelon and put it in the blender with some ice(or vanilla ice cream if you want) and I think 1-1/2 cup of milk, and a little honey and sugar. Don’t worry about the seeds. I assure you a watermelon will not grow in your stomach 😛 (watermelon seeds are actually sold at the 7/11 here as snack food!)

Thai language is difficult. I’m not gonna lie. Especially because it is a tonal language, so the pitch matters. People say I am doing well speaking, but my conversations are limited by my small vocabulary. Fortunately, it is phonetic to read and write (mostly) and the grammar is actually really logical. So Thai is easy in some ways, but tricky other times.
School is fun, I go to class with my sister(also 17) in class 6/4.
I’m also taking French and Mandarin Chinese here (1 hour each a week) and about 5 hours of Thai, and 6 hours of Thai dance.

There are a lot of dogs, and some are being sent to Vietnam to be eaten! There are dogs everywhere here! Even in school! A few weeks ago, a dog walked into my class, which was on the second floor mind you, and my friends played with it! It was a clean dog 🙂 I miss my dog back home (Ruru).

And now I want to here from you! My mom recently proposed an idea to answer questions on my blog.
So if you have any questions you would like me to answer about my stay in Thailand, please feel free to post below!

Ex.Q. Do you have to do any chores at home?
A. Not really. My house is much smaller, than my home in America. My host mom prefers to do the cleaning when she is home. But I will Iron my shirt and skirt before going to school. And sometimes I will wash the dishes.

Bye ❤ nahmwan นัำหวๅน !!

4 responses

  1. Mom (Julia Jackson)

    Just wondered, do you know officially when you leave Thailand? I can assume it will be another 10 days before you get here.

    Take care. Are you happy?

    Tell people you are 11 hours ahead of Ann Arbor, Michigan. Your city is West of Bangkok, and is a nice suburb (at least that is what Khan the Thai student from Bangkok says of your area.)

    August 25, 2011 at 1:40 pm

  2. Cathy B

    Do you have your own room to sleep or do you share a room?

    August 26, 2011 at 12:09 am

  3. Jeanne

    What do you have for breakfast, lunch, dinner? What classes are you taking at school? Have you travelled out of town besides Bangkok? How do you get to the school? What do you do in the evenings with the family?

    August 26, 2011 at 5:44 pm

  4. Wow, Heather, you are amazing. Learning three foreign languages at once, and doing it overseas to boot. So which language are you finding easiest to learn, and which one is the most challenging?

    September 21, 2011 at 3:42 am

Leave a Reply

